Monday, October 31, 2011

Book Shelf: The Lost Hero (Heroes of Olympus #1) by Rick Riordan

Jason has a problem. He doesn’t remember anything before waking up on a school bus holding hands with a girl. Apparently he has a girlfriend named Piper. His best friend is a kid named Leo, and they’re all students in the Wilderness School, a boarding school for “bad kids”, as Leo puts it. What he did to end up here, Jason has no idea — except that everything seems very wrong.

Piper has a secret. Her father, a famous actor, has been missing for three days, and her vivid nightmares reveal that he’s in terrible danger. Now her boyfriend doesn’t recognize her, and when a freak storm and strange creatures attack during a school field trip, she, Jason, and Leo are whisked away to someplace called Camp Half-Blood. What is going on?

Leo has a way with tools. His new cabin at Camp Half-Blood is filled with them. Seriously, the place beats Wilderness School hands down, with its weapons training, monsters, and fine-looking girls. What’s troubling is the curse everyone keeps talking about, and that a camper’s gone missing. Weirdest of all, his bunkmates insist they are all—including Leo—related to a god.

Blurb from


Set in the world of Percy Jackson, Rick Riordan proves why he’s the master of what he does with his brand new Heroes of Olympus series! New myths, new legends and new characters collide in the heavily awaited spin-off series that is the next chapter in the world of Greek gods and demigods!
Riordan is the king of myth.....truly, this man can do no wrong! Greek, Egyptian Roman...doesn’t matter, he rules it all. Fans of Percy Jackson will no doubt adore this series, which seems slightly more mature than Percy Jackson, yet holds all the characteristics that made that series great.

Introduced to new heroes who I simply adored and spilt in 3 different POV’s, we’re once more drawn into the incredible world that Riordan has so incredibly crafted. With old friends and new mysteries, Jason, Piper and Leo are thrust into the world of gods, demigods and monsters!
I love the world featured in this series, honestly I do, and I was so excited to get to experience it again. This book starts up not long after the events of the final Percy Jackson book where we get to meet 3 new demigods who are a part of the prophecy Rachel spoke at the end of the last book. I admit I adored seeing the characters I loved from PJ, including Annabeth, Chiron, Thalia, as well as be introduced to the three new heroes that are now front and centre.

Jason, Piper and Leo are awesome characters. Just the kind I’ve come to expect from Riordan.
Jason, who is suffering from memory loss and has no idea who he is or his past, is brave and loyal; the ultimate leader, Piper who is the daughter of Aphrodite, is nothing like the stereotypical child of the Goddess of love and is equally brave and strong. She has an inner strength and cares nothing of looks and beauty. I liked the relationship created between these two, including the trials they are facing and will continue to face as Jason continues to learn who he is. Not giving anything away, but it makes it so much more fun watching them try to sort out things between them. They are very cute and it goes without saying that I want them together.
Leo is in a world of his own. I love this guy! He’s witty and smart mouthed, but such a sweetie. He’s extremely intelligent when it comes to machines and mechanics thanks to his father and could do anything he set his mind to it. I loved his magical tool belt and the friendship he developed with a mechanical dragon.

With fantastic characters that simply jump of the page with personality and flair, Riordan continues to build on what is already an incredibly in depth world. Honestly, I didn’t think he could do anything more, but in this book which is already shaping up to be the start of an amazing new series, Rick Riordan introduces new gods, more legends and new monsters as he expands his world. I really, really don’t want to give anything away, but Jason is the key to a whole new side to this world. Different aspects to each god come into play and the implications are extraordinary.

I know you’re all wondering.....what about Percy? And yes. He does play a role in the storyline of this book and series, although it may not be how you think. Lord, Riordan knows how to push buttons and leave you wanting more! You’ll think, “No! Really?” and just be giddy with excitement at the possibilities of this series. It’s so exciting and I truly believe it’s so good that it may rival Percy Jackson in time of Riordan continues down the path he’s currently on.
Fans of Percy Jackson, and Riordan need to run, not walk, to get this book, especially considering the sequel is just being released. I know I’ll be getting my hands on it as soon as possible; the ending is just that good!

Source: I bought
Format: Paperback
Recommend: Yes!
Recommend borrow or buy: Buy
Cover: Haha! This cover is awesome
Read sequel/continue with series: Yes!

Buy it here:

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

No comments:

Post a Comment

Hi everyone!

Thanks so much for leaving a comment at The Rest Is Still Unwritten! I read each and every comment, even if I don't reply to them all and appreciate your interest in my blog.

Hope you have a great day and Happy Reading!