Wednesday, June 11, 2014

Book Shelf: Threats of Sky and Sea (Threats of Sky and Sea #1) by Jennifer Ellision

Sixteen year-old Breena Perdit has spent her life as a barmaid, innocent to her father’s past and happily free from the Elemental gifts that would condemn her to a life in the Egrian King’s army. Until the day that three Elemental soldiers recognize her father as a traitor to the throne and Bree’s father is thrown in jail—along with the secrets from his last mission as the King’s assassin. Secrets that could help the King win a war. Secrets he refuses to share.

Desperate to escape before the King’s capricious whims prove her and her father’s downfall, Bree bargains with him: information for their lives. It’s a good trade. And she has faith she’ll get them both out of the King’s grasp with time.

But that was before the discovery that she’s the weapon the King’s been waiting for in his war.

Now, time is running out. To save her father’s life and understand her own, Bree must unravel the knot of her father’s past before the King takes his life– and uses her to bring a nation to its knees.

More info on Goodreads.....


Threats of Sky and Sea by Jennifer Ellison is a vividly written fantasy novel that weaves different elements of magic together with danger and forbidden romance in a well told story that will leave you eager for more!

I’ll be honest; it did take me a little while to find myself truly absorbed by Threats of Sky and Sea. That’s not to say there was anything wrong with the story or that it started out slow, because it didn’t; it just took a little while for me to become comfortable with the setting and the main character. Once I reached about a quarter way through, I did find myself beginning to become very invested in our heroines story and her plight; reading along eagerly.

Perfect for fans of Maria V. Snyder and Sarah J. Maas, Threats of Sky and Sea was a richly written and depicted book. Author Jennifer Ellison pays great attention to detail and doesn’t disappoint in describing and vividly depicting her world. Ellison’s writing is very beautiful and she does a good job with her world building. I think the reason I was a bit put off in the building is that Ellison does jump straight into the story and at first I was unsure of the individuals she features who wield and have control over different elements.

Threats of Sky and Sea follows sixteen year old Breena Rose, a young village girl who lives in a land ruled by a harsh and controlling king. Bree thinks herself a humble barmaid, living and running a bar with her father, but when three of the kings soldiers come looking for her father, Bree realises that everything she knew about herself isn’t exactly truth. Taken prisoner by the king, Breena soon begins to learn the truth as she becomes involved in politics and the kings sinister plans for their neighbouring country.

I must say I liked that our protagonist and heroine, Breena Rose was different. Bree was feisty and free-thinking and an outside the square character compared to all the others that accepted the king’s rule and didn’t fight out against all the horrid things he chose to do.

I thought Jennifer Ellison did a great job with her supporting characters also. I enjoyed their different dynamics and the different elements they brought to the storyline. Aleta and Caden were standouts as well as Tregle and our reigning villans, the King and Lady Katherine.

Threats of Sky and Sea has plenty of revelations to keep you entertained as the story steadily progresses, including a shocking ending that will change the very course of our heroines life. With Threats of Sky and Sea a rich fantasy tale and the first book in what looks to be an exciting series, I’m ready to head into the next instalment.

Source: Sent for review by Xpresso Book Tours and the author (Thank you Giselle and Jennifer!)
Format: Kindle ebook
Buy it: Amazon (Kindle) | Amazon (Paperback) | Barnes & Noble | Smashwords | The Book Depository
My Recommendation: Fans of Maria V. Snyder and Sarah J. Maas will love this.
Cover: Stunning. Simply stunning!
Will I read sequel/continue with series: Yes.

1 comment:

  1. Oh this sounds like a wonderful read for fantasy fans. I don't read fantasy very often but when I do I really enjoy it - I'm just pickier with which one I pick up and this one sounds like it could be a winner. I'm super curious about the ending, too! >.<


Hi everyone!

Thanks so much for leaving a comment at The Rest Is Still Unwritten! I read each and every comment, even if I don't reply to them all and appreciate your interest in my blog.

Hope you have a great day and Happy Reading!