Thursday, September 3, 2015

Book Shelf: The Last Necromancer (The Ministry of Curiosities #1) by C.J. Archer

Victorian London: For five years, Charlotte (Charlie) Holloway has lived as a boy in the slums. But when one theft too many gets her arrested, her only means of escape lies with a dead man. Charlie hasn't raised a spirit since she first discovered she could do so five years ago. That time, her father banished her. This time, she brings even more trouble upon herself.

People are now hunting Charlie all over London, but only one man succeeds in capturing her.

Lincoln Fitzroy is the mysterious head of a secret organization on the trail of a madman who needs a necromancer to control his newly "made" creatures. There was only one known necromancer in the world - Charlotte - but now there appears to be two. Lincoln captures the willful Charlie in the hopes the boy will lead him to Charlotte. But what happens when he discovers the boy is in fact the young woman he's been searching for all along? And will she agree to work for the man who held her against her will, and for an organization she doesn't trust?

Because Lincoln and his ministry might be just as dangerous as the madman they're hunting.

More info on Goodreads.......

The Last Necromancer is the latest release by C.J. Archer and is a sensational and whimsical tale set in Victorian London that follows a strappy and quick thinking young heroine and introduces readers to an engaging new world full of magic, attraction and chemistry!

The Last Necromancer introduces readers to Charlotte “Charlie” Holloway, an eighteen year old woman who has lived on the streets of London since she was thirteen and her abilities as a necromancer saw her thrown out by her father. Managing to pass as a young boy due to her slight stature and innocent face, Charlie has seen the worst of life. So when she’s kidnapped off the street by someone looking for a necromancer named Charlotte who is not aware they are one in the same, Charlie vows to escape. Taken to a manor house by a mysterious man by the name Lincoln Fitzroy, known to those who serve him as Death, Charlie soon learns Fitzroy isn’t the only one who has been searching for her.

There is a madman loose on the streets of London creating creatures he needs a necromancer, AKA Charlie, to reanimate, and with the secret organisation Fitzroy heads set on capturing him before further damage can be done, Charlie may have no choice but to work with those who have taken her hostage, but who have shown her more kindness and care than she’s seen in a long time, or risk having the madman get a hold of her; something that may perhaps be a fate worse than death…….

I have to say I was really impressed with The Last Necromancer! Perfect for fans of Kady Cross's Steampunk Chronicles, The Last Necromancer caught my attention from the very beginning and easily held it until the final page. Honestly, I wasn’t ready for the story to end when it ultimately did and I’m already raring to dive back into Charlie’s world once more!

I loved how well thought out, paced and detailed The Last Necromancer was. C.J. Archer has created a very vivid and engaging Victorian London that she has filled with tangible and personable characters you really end up adoring. I enjoyed the mystery that surrounds the story and liked how Archer twisted a literacy classic (no spoilers just yet from me!) with necromancy and the mysterious Ministry that Lincoln Fitzroy heads. 

From the moment we met her, I knew Charlie was going to be one of those kinds of heroines I absolutely loved and boy, was I not wrong. Charlie is strong, defiant and quick thinking. Throughout The Last Necromancer, Charlie displayed traits I look for in a leading lady who has the potential for growth. Obviously she is an eighteen year old young woman who has been alone for a long time, so she has her vulnerabilities and insecurities; especially considering the effect malnourishment and lack of hygiene has had on her body during her years on the street. Charlie doesn’t trust easy, but I really liked watching her begin to get along with those who “kidnapped” her, as they slowly became her friends. 

If Charlie was the starting point, all the other characters so far have continued to add layers and different dimensions to the story. Lincoln Fitzroy is most obviously a standout as the source of a lot of confliction in the story comes from his and Charlie’s complicated relationship that is beginning to develop and his mysterious circumstances. Archer has hinted at a real intriguing history for Lincoln and I’m really intrigued to discover who he is and what his exact role within the ministry is.

Seth and Gus also prove to be adorable comrades to Charlie; looking after her both as a young boy and then as a woman. Their friendships with Charlie are both different, but no less sweet to read about. Seth comes across as almost a potential love interest, but I think Charlie’s heart strictly lies with Lincoln. At least I hope it does; I’m so very over love triangles.

And speaking of love interests; I loved the tension present between Charlie and Fitzroy and have no doubt they have real potential as a couple despite their age difference. Besides, what is 12 years during the Victorian era? Nothing really. Not when two people clearly have something simmering between them that is powerful and tangible. I find them thrilling and really feel Fitzroy is attracted to Charlie and cares for her, even though he’s attempting to keep her at a distance. Personally I think, and hope, this isn’t going to last and can’t wait for the moment when the tension that lingers between it reaches a crescendo and Fitzroy gives into Charlie.  

Expertly depicted and well-paced, The Last Necromancer is a stunning novel by C.J. Archer that sweeps readers into a passionate new world and will no doubt have you begging for more!
Source: Sent for review by C.J. Archer and Xpresso Book Tours (Thanks ladies!)
Format: Kindle ebook
Buy it: Bookworld | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Smashwords
My Recommendation: This will be perfect for fans of Kady Cross!
Cover: This cover is beyond beautiful. I think it's quite possibly one of the most stunning covers I have ever seen!
Will I read sequel/continue with series: YES! I cannot wait!

1 comment:

  1. Wonderful review, Rachel! This sounds like a very well written read and the whole world sounds so cinematic! I love it when you can really sense the atmosphere of it all.


Hi everyone!

Thanks so much for leaving a comment at The Rest Is Still Unwritten! I read each and every comment, even if I don't reply to them all and appreciate your interest in my blog.

Hope you have a great day and Happy Reading!