Friday, August 30, 2013

Book Shelf: Mystic City (Mystic City #1) by Theo Lawrence

For fans of Matched, The Hunger Games, X-Men, and Blade Runner comes a tale of a magical city divided, a political rebellion ignited, and a love that was meant to last forever. Book One of the Mystic City Novels.

Aria Rose, youngest scion of one of Mystic City's two ruling rival families, finds herself betrothed to Thomas Foster, the son of her parents' sworn enemies. The union of the two will end the generations-long political feud—and unite all those living in the Aeries, the privileged upper reaches of the city, against the banished mystics who dwell below in the Depths. But Aria doesn't remember falling in love with Thomas; in fact, she wakes one day with huge gaps in her memory. And she can't conceive why her parents would have agreed to unite with the Fosters in the first place. Only when Aria meets Hunter, a gorgeous rebel mystic from the Depths, does she start to have glimmers of recollection—and to understand that he holds the key to unlocking her past. The choices she makes can save or doom the city—including herself.

More info on Goodreads.....


Mystic City is a smart, riveting debut by author Theo Lawrence that mixes dystopian with high society in this Romeo & Juliet style tale. It’s the X-Men meets Mad Men in this gripping story sure to capture from the opening page!

I’m quite disappointed. In myself. Why, oh, why did I wait so long to read this book?!? Theo Lawrence is a new author to me, but I doubt this will be the last time I read one of this tales as I found myself quite immersed in his riveting world.

I have to admit, I didn’t know what to expect when I began this book. Sadly, it’s sat on my shelf for a while, lost amongst the countless review books I have, so picking it up on a whim, I wasn’t sure what I’d be getting. What I found was a fun, intriguing read that hooked me with its action, intrigue and tantalizing romance. Lawrence blends elements of mystery and adventure perfectly with romance in this lovely paced fantasy.

Set in a world where politicians and the rich control the city of Manhattan; hiding behind their pretty faces and promises while living double lives, and the lower class live below ground and struggle to survive, finding it hard to find necisarities like food and shelter and blending into the dark, dirty Depths below Manhattan. Mystic City introduces us to mystics; individuals who have special abilities but who are seen as dangerous and are hunted and ostracized; “drained” to keep them powerless and follows Aria Rose, the daughter of one of the most prominent politicians there is.

Aria Rose was a really great character to follow throughout this book! Starting out very much a protected high class young woman, she is haunted by a past she can’t remember and is told she experienced. I liked Aria, I really did. Theo Lawrence wrote her well and I couldn’t help but find myself invested in her plight as she struggles to discover the truth, amidst the glitz, glamour and flair that comes with the parties, events and society she’s a part of.

Considering she really doesn’t remember what happened before her supposed “overdose”, as well as the young man she is supposed to love, I loved watching Aria search for the truth, becoming more daring and sufficient with the turn of every page. Lawrence writes the story in the way that you as the reader only know as much as Aria knows and I found it very enjoyable piecing together truth from lies as Mystic City unfolds.

Hunter proves to be a mystery to Aria, as well as a lifeline, and I really liked him. In fact, all the characters, the “good” as well as the bad were nice to read about as they wove together the plotline. Lawrence did a good job with the romance in Mystic City. It’s neither over bearing, nor does it fade into the background; rather it blends in with the action, mystery and high stakes of the story. Admittedly, I saw certain revelations coming, but was happy with the turn of events regardless.

Featuring plenty of shocks, twists and deception, Mystic City will hold your attention until the very last page. The stakes have never been higher for the rebel mystics of the city as well as those in power. As Aria, Hunter and those closest to them fight for freedom, love and power, the gripping ending sets the stage for book two. Mystic City will take you into a world where secrets rage and no one is as they seem, leaving you looking anticipating what Theo Lawrence will do next!

Source: Sent for review by Random House Australia (Thank you Dorothy!)
Format: Paperback
Buy it: Bookworld | The Nile | The Book Depository | Amazon
My Recommendation: Dystopian fans--you'll love this one!
Cover: Stunning. Simply stunning!
Will I read sequel/continue with series: Absolutely


Hi everyone!

Thanks so much for leaving a comment at The Rest Is Still Unwritten! I read each and every comment, even if I don't reply to them all and appreciate your interest in my blog.

Hope you have a great day and Happy Reading!