Tuesday, May 10, 2016

Book Shelf: The Redhead Plays Her Hand (Redhead #3) by Alice Clayton

The third sexy novel in USA TODAY bestselling author Alice Clayton’s playful and erotic Redhead series continues the sizzling romance between actress Grace Sheridan and Hollywood’s hottest leading man Jack Hamilton.

Grace has landed the lead in a new TV series—but when the director asks her to lose fifteen pounds, she goes public with her weight struggles and suddenly develops a huge fan club who support her right to have curves. But between that and the public’s continuing fascination with her “are they or aren’t they” relationship with Jack, Grace begins to wonder if anyone’s really interested in her because of her upcoming TV series, or if it’s all speculation about the size of her ass and her bedroom partner.

Meanwhile, Jack is voted the Sexiest Man Alive and becomes a little too enamored with the party-hard lifestyle. Grace vows to give him the space he needs to find himself, but then he begins to spiral down from lovable Brit to Hollywood brat. People are talking, but are Jack and Grace? Her career is on the rise, and his continues into the stratosphere, but will she be able to catch him if he falls? Will they ever be able to just be a couple who can hold hands when they walk down the street?

More info on Goodreads......


The Redhead Plays Her Hand is the third and final book in Alice Clayton’s Redhead series and concludes what has been a brilliant series in spectacular fashion, full of all the laughs, fun and romance that has made this series so great!

Grace Sheridan is floating on cloud nine; her relationship with Jack continues to remain strong, her off-Broadway show has just been picked up for TV with Grace in the lead role and she’s finally being recognized for her acting. Her career may be on the rise, but everything quickly goes downhill after Grace is asked by her director to loose fifteen pounds and her weight issue quickly becomes a media spotlight. Thrown by the both the backlash and support she receives, Grace sets out to prove her doubters wrong, while Jack begins to spend a little too much time partying and drinking. Quickly beginning to spiral down thanks to a bad influence and the media circus that accompanies his stardom, Jack soon begins shirking his responsibilities, mistreating his fans and getting into fights. As Grace scrambles to help the man she loves get back on his feet, Jack and Grace go head to head in a move that could see their relationship crumble…..

Man, have I loved this series! Having been lucky to own all the books, I read one after the other and devoured Grace and Jack’s tale. Alice Clayton has kept me highly entertained and eagerly reading along with each instalment. There’s always been a perfect amount of romance, tension and conflict to keep the books interesting and Grace and Jack’s relationship progressing while their careers grew.

I’ve loved following Grace and Jack and have only come to love them individually, and as a couple more with each book. Grace has always been spunky and Jack so darn sexy and cute in his dedication and love for Grace and that hasn’t changed with this instalment. Clayton adds a new conflict to Grace and Jack’s relationship through the downward spiral Jack finds himself in as he struggles with the fame and lack of privacy his career brings.

I think The Redhead Plays Her Hand showcases how human Jack actually is. Prior to this book, he’s always seemed so infallible and took everything in stride—in The Redhead Plays Her Hand, Jack struggles and makes the mistakes a lot of people in Hollywood do. It was nice seeing those around him rally, but I still think Alice Clayton offered a realistic representation of how I imagine life must be for those in the spotlight.

Aside from her sassy and easy nature, I have to commend Alice Clayton for writing Grace to be such a positive role-model where health and weight loss is concerned. Grace really does represent today’s modern woman. She likes to have a drink, and a burger and all bets are off if there’s candy involved. Clayton shows through Grace how much pressure the media and show business can put on a person to be thin and the impact it can have on an individual. Even though Grace exercised and ate healthily, she was still criticized for her curvier figure and seeing how she reacts, and then ultimately embraces who is, was great to read about.

Jack and Grace are still sizzling between the sheets, and in the kitchen, and on the patio…..and, well, you get the gist, as ever. Clayton continues to write scorching sex scenes and sweet, endearing moments as these two build their home together. They’ve made me smile and laugh and continue to do so all the way until the very end with their easy teasing, banter and devotion to one another.

Alice Clayton details Grace and Jack’s final story wonderfully with The Red Head Plays Her Hand. I’ve so enjoyed following them and their friends from beginning to end and although I’m sad to see them go, I think Clayton gives them a well written and well-deserved ending.

Fans of Christina Lauren, Abbi Glines and Sylvia Day are sure to love this series and if you’re a NA fan who likes sass, humor, romance and fun, the Redhead series is one you’re sure to love. Brilliant and sexy from start to finish, I highly suggest you check it out!

Source: Sent for review by Simon & Schuster (Thank you guys!)
Format: Paperback
Buy it: Bookworld | The Nile | The Book Depository | Amazon
My Recommendation: Perfect for fans of well written NA full of laughs and fun.
Cover: Goes perfect with the first too.
Will I read sequel/continue with series: This is the final book in the Redhead series but I'll read whatever Alice Clayton releases in the future.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Hi everyone!

Thanks so much for leaving a comment at The Rest Is Still Unwritten! I read each and every comment, even if I don't reply to them all and appreciate your interest in my blog.

Hope you have a great day and Happy Reading!