Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Book Shelf: Eternal Rider (Lords of Deliverance #1) by Larissa Ione

They are here. They ride.
The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse.

His name is Ares, and the fate of mankind rests on his powerful shoulders. If he falls to the forces of evil, the world falls too. As one of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse, he is far stronger than any mortal, but even he cannot fight his destiny forever. Not when his own brother plots against him.

Yet there is one last hope. Gifted in a way other humans can't-or won't-understand, Cara Thornhart is the key to both this Horseman's safety and his doom. But involving Cara will prove treacherous, even beyond the maddening, dangerous desire that seizes them the moment they meet. For staving off eternal darkness could have a staggering cost: Cara's life.

More info on Goodreads.....


Eternal Rider is the brilliant first installment in Larissa Ione's new Lords of Deliverance series and is a romantic, action packed PNR that will demand your attention from start to finish!

I must say I was quite impressed with this book. I enjoyed Ione's Demonica series and even though it's taken me a while to get around to reading this new spin-off series from her, I've been looking forward to it for a while. And in saying that, I'm thrilled to say that Eternal Rider did not disappoint! I LOVED this book. In fact even though this is only the first installment in the series, I already see big things in it's future and think I may end up loving it more than the Demonica books!

Set in the world of demons and humans we were first shown in Demonica, Larissa Ione introduces us to Ares, Limos, Thantos and Reseph--also known as the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse. I was very impressed with how Ione expanded on her already detailed world in Eternal Rider. She takes everything we've learnt about this world and adds to it as we meet the Horsemen. It was all very dark and exciting and I liked Iones version of the Horsemen of the Apocalypse. It was fun and fresh and yet still very entertaining.

The characters in this book were brilliant. In a show of how could a writer she is, Larissa Ione already has me very engrossed in the lives of Ares, Limos, Thantos and Reseph. These four very different characters already intrigue me with their different personalities and inner demons. Honestly, I love them already and it's only the first book!

As the featured couple in this book, I loved both Ares and Cara. Ares, the Horsemen also known as War, was one of those strong, fierce warriors I love and Cara was a really likable heroine. She had her fears in the beginning, but as the novel progressed and she began to learn about this whole new world, she really came into her own and found her inner strength. Together these two were really perfect and I liked the possibilities their romance and relationship means for the other characters. Already I find myself anticipating Limos and Thans books!

There really were so many things I loved about this book. Larissa Ione blended together so many little things to create a book that was just fabulous from start to finish. From the family dynamic between the Horsemen, to Cara and her bond with Hal and even the Ramel demons that were a part of Ares life, Eternal Rider was brilliant.

With characters from Demonica already making appearances and fast, hard hitting storylines involving a far from traditional villain, I foresee The Lords of Deliverance being a very exciting series!

Source: I Bought.
Format: Paperback
Buy it: Booktopia // The Nile // The Book Depository
Recommendation: Fans of PRN and Ione's Demonica series will love this one.
Cover: Very much a fan of this cover--it's awesome!
Will I read sequel/continue with series: Yes! Can't wait to read them all!


  1. I haven't read anything by this author (though I have heard of her name before) but I'm really liking the sound of this particular book. Great review!

  2. Larissa Ione writes really fantastic PNR. You should definitely give her a go some time Erin!


Hi everyone!

Thanks so much for leaving a comment at The Rest Is Still Unwritten! I read each and every comment, even if I don't reply to them all and appreciate your interest in my blog.

Hope you have a great day and Happy Reading!